Boating License in Bothell, WA
Worthington Licensing does not stop at vehicles, we title, register, and renew boat decals for our Washington customers as well. We are the go-to office for boat licensing in Bothell, WA.
Boat Title Transfers
You must title and register your boat in Washington State within 60 days of moving to Washington. If you live here and are buying a Washington titled boat, you must transfer the title and register within 15 days. Although additional documents may be needed to complete your transaction, generally you will need the following to title and register your vessel in Washington State:
- For a new vessel, Manufacturer's Statement/Certificate of Origin
- For a used vessel, the current title, and registration. If you are moving to Washington and make payments on your boat, you will need a fax or photocopy of the title being held by the lien holder. One of Worthington Licensing’s Certified Title Clerks can assist you in requesting your title from your bank, if necessary. If your title has been lost, you must apply for a duplicate title from the state of issuance.
- Bill of Sale and/or Proof of Sales Tax Paid
- Vessel Data/Use Tax Form
Boat Decals and Registration
Once you have titled and registered your boat, you will receive your boat registration, tags and be assigned a registration number (WN number), if applicable. You will also be provided with Vessel Numbering Instructions showing how to display the registration number and tags on your boat properly.
Boater Safety Education
Washington State law now requires anyone ages 12 years or older to pass an approved boating safety course and receive a Washington State Boater Education Card before operating a boat of 15 HP or greater. You can obtain a Boater Education Card for a one-time fee of $10.
The card is valid for a lifetime and is effective throughout the U.S. and Canada. For a list of approved safety courses and to access the Boater Education Card application, visit the Washington State Parks Boating Program.
Clean Your Boat Before You Float
To prevent the spread of aquatic nuisance species, decontaminate your boat, boat trailer, and any other boating gear before entering Washington. For more information, see aquatic invasive species (Department of Fish and Wildlife).
Report the Sale of a Boat
To protect your liability, you should file a Vessel Report of Sale within 5 days when your boat has been:
- Sold privately
- Given as a gift to another person
- Traded, either privately or to a dealership
- Donated to charity
- Turned over to an insurance company
- Disposed of
Bring the Vessel Report of Sale to Worthington Licensing, and we can file it for you at no charge, or you can file the Report of Sale online.