Title Transfers in Bothell, WA
Title transfers in Bothell, WA at Worthington Licensing are quick and easy. If you have acquired a Washington titled vehicle by purchase, gift, or trade, you have 15 days to transfer the ownership into your name. Failing to complete the title transfer within 15 days could result in a penalty fee between $50 and $125. If your vehicle was purchased from a Washington State dealership, they are required to complete the title and registration process for you.
Although, additional documents may be needed for special cases, generally you will need the following to complete a title transfer:
- For a new vehicle, you need the Manufacturer's Statement of Origin/Certificate of Origin.
- For used vehicles, you need the current title and registration.
- A Vehicle/Vessel Bill of Sale form completed by both the buyer and the seller or the dealership invoice/purchase agreement.
- If the vehicle is less than 10 years old, you will need an Odometer Disclosure Statement. In most cases, this is included on the title itself. If you do not have the title, Odometer Disclosure Statements are available at Worthington Licensing. Both the buyer and seller must sign the form in agreement of the current mileage.
How Quickly Do You Want Your Title?
If you would like your title the same day as transferring ownership, Worthington Licensing is authorized to process a faster solution. For an additional $50.00, your vehicle may be eligible for a Quick Title, which is printed immediately in our office. Vehicles that are not eligible are:
- Vehicles or boats reported as stolen
- Insurance or wrecker destroyed vehicles and boats
- Vehicles with a “WA Rebuilt” branded title
- Out-of-State titled vehicles
For non-expedited title transfers, the new title will be issued by the Department of Licensing and delivered via mail, in approximately 6 to 8 weeks to the address provided when transferring ownership.
If you have changed your name, you must update your vehicle and boat records. Changing your name on one vehicle does not automatically change it for every vehicle titled in your name. If you make payments on your vehicle, the lien holder must surrender the title in their possession for the name change to occur. For your convenience, one of Worthington Licensing’s Certified Title Clerks can assist you in requesting the title from your lien holder. To change your name on your vehicle or boat title and registration, you will need:
- The current title for your vehicle or boat
- A copy of the court order authorizing the name change or a Vehicle/Vessel Owner Name Update Affidavit for Individual form, notarized/certified by of one of our Title Clerks.
- Your Washington Driver License reflecting your updated name.
Although there are exceptions, issuance of new license plates and registration are required when a vehicle transfers ownership. License plates do not need to be replaced if:
- You are removing a deceased spouse or domestic partner from the title.
- The vehicle is being given to you by your spouse, domestic partner, immediate family member, as inheritance, or a trust in which the registered owner or their immediate family members are the beneficiaries of the trust.
At Worthington Licensing, you will receive your Washington license plates and registration immediately in our office. For an additional fee you may also choose a special design plate, which will be mailed to you in approximately 30 days. If you would like personalized plates, fill out and submit the Special Background, Personalized, or HAM Operator License Plate Application with the required fees (contact us for fees) to:
Department of Licensing
Attn: Special Plate Unit
P.O. Box 9909
Olympia, WA 98507-8500
Report of Sale
When releasing interest in a vehicle, it is important to file a Vehicle Report of Sale within 5 days of the sale date, if you have:
- Sold privately
- Given as a gift to another person
- Traded, either privately or to a dealership
- Donated to charity
- Turned over to an insurance company
- Disposed of
You can file a Vehicle Report of Sale for $13.25, either online or in-person. When you file your Report of Sale at Worthington Licensing, you receive a certified receipt, which protects your liability.
Filing a Report of Sale insures that if the buyer does not transfer the title of the vehicle into their name, you cannot be held responsible. Without the Report of Sale, you could be held liable for toll bills, towing charges, and other civil or criminal circumstances accrued by the new owner.
Title Transfers in Bothell, Washington are simple when you choose Worthington Licensing. Whether you are buying or selling a vehicle contact us to walk you through the process.